Road to Marathon – Day Five

So I’ve decided – fuck pain!

Did two 5s today, 5 miles and then a 5k… yeah, I know – that’s like 8 miles.   But two 5s sounds cooler.  Had to run through a nagging calf pain and/or cramp.  Sucked, but like Tina says, “Suck it up, Buttercup!”

Beginning to formulate a plan for this thing.  Through the end of the year, I think I’m going to focus on improving my overall fitness and get to the point where I’m running 10miles comfortably on my weekly long run.  Then in January, I’ll start training hard for the Cherry Blossom with goal of shaving my time.

I’m also thinking it would be cool to take time off from work in 2014 to dedicate to training for a marathon in the fall of that year.  We’ll see how that goes…

For the meantime I’ve landed on the 2014 Marine Corp Marathon as my target.  It’s local and it’s an open marathon and it’s legendary.  I have 811 days…

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

