The one where I want to drive…

I want to drive
drive until the road gives way to the void

off the edge of this great flat expanse
into the unexplored future

where tomorrow’s yet unwritten
where the past is but a vapor

I want to drive
to where the sun never sets

around the world and back again
leaving memories where they belong

locked in the trunk
I’ll ignore their pleas for release

I want to drive
through that vast desert and out the other side

load up my life
burning the maps that show the way

across that great divide
that separates our dreams from our lives

Leave a Reply

