The one where I ponder my place…

Father, my Father
do you look on in pride
when I finally get it right

do you stay up worrying
at night?

Father, my Father
Are you glad I’m
your son?

Will you hunt me down
when I’m on the run?

Father, my Father
when the way is so clear
why do I get so turned around?

Daughter, my Daughter
my little girl
I’d give you the world

But I know you’d just
rather have me

Wife, my Wife
Love of my days

Will you still have me
when my eyes grow dim
my bones grow old,
and my hair goes grey?

Son, my Son
I feel your eyes
when you look at me

Do you say
I want to be like my Dad
because he tries to be like

Father, his Father…

Leave a Reply

