The one where I fear…

monsters under my bed
skeletons in my closet
the devil on my shoulder

and a
monkey on my back
chattering at them all

backing me
into a corner
again

and I am filled
with rage and terror
and I despair

I can see the glint
of eyes and teeth
in the shadows

feel the hot breath
smell the stink
of death

the walls close in…
a cruel exercise
in geometry

and I run
breaking free
spinning like a tailback

only to find myself
back in that same
corner

and I can hear a laugh
it curdles my blood
and chills my bones

my torment
is sport to some
damn them

Leave a Reply

