The one where I run.

I run.
I’m running from you, from the ghosts, from the drooling monsters under my bed.
I run from death and hell, a hound nipping at my heels.
I run from my past, my pain, my shame.
From your expectations and disappointment.
I run because I cannot sing or dance or fly.
I run though the blood and sweat and tears and power chords and blast beats and break beats and break downs.
I run to stretch that base hit into a double.
I run because the road rises.
I run to achieve escape velocity.
Because the way out is the way in, and the world turns to greet me.
I run into that new dawn.
I run to transform my canvas.
I run in defiance.
I run to you.
Run with me.

One thought on “The one where I run.

Leave a Reply

